7th Premio Arejola opens

The Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon (PTALB) is now accepting entries for its regular categories, namely: rawitdawit (poetry), osipon (fiction), osipon na pan-aki (stories for children), halipot na pasali na pan-entablado (one-act play), halawig na pasali na pan-entablado (full-length play), saysay (essay), nobela (novel), and the new category, halipot na pasali na pan-pelikula (screenplay for short films), Carlos Arejola, chair of the region-wide literary competition announced recently.

Widely regarded as Bicol’s premiere literary prize, the annual writing contest is open to all Bicolano writers and literary enthusiasts based in the region or elsewhere. New, unproduced, and unpublished works written in any of the variations of the Bikol language (e.g. Bikol Rinconada, Bikol Albay, Bikol Naga, etc) that show literary merit and social significance are eligible for the competition. Category winners receive P5,000 and the Premio Arejola medallion, and are eligible for the P10,000 cash prize and the title Parasurat kan Taon (Writer of the Year).

Also up for grabs are prizes for the Rawitdawit para ki Ina (Poems for the Lady of Peñafrancia), a special category open to pupils of the elementary level, high school students and out-of-school youth not more than 18 years old.

The category was inaugurated in 2008 to engender the creation of literary works that articulates a young person’s devotional sentiments to the Lady of Peñafrancia and states, in poetic manner, the significance of such devotion in today’s world. Private catholic schools, universities, and public high schools have participated in the category, which awards a specially-designed medallion and cash and prizes worth 3,000.00 for the winner and his/her coach.

Likewise being accepted are entries for the Premio Bibiano Sabino para sa Librong Bikol, now also in its 3rd year. The category is open to book authors, book designers/ illustrators, anthologists/editors and publishers of Bikol literary titles. To qualify, the book must be written in the Bikol language, edited/ anthologized, designed/ illustrated by a Bicolano native or resident. Titles published and distributed between September 2009 and August 2010 are eligible for the said book prize. The winner will receive a testimonial plague, P5, 000, and shall be listed in the roster along with the winners of the regular and special categories and Lifetime Achievement Awardees.

All short-listed entries will be awarded Diplomas of Merit in awards ceremony on October. Entries for all categories must be received on or before August 31, 2010. For full contest rules, please log on to http://www.panitikan.com.ph or email SuratBikol@gmail.com.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s