Blessings, Criticism of Priests and A Solution to Water Shortage

FROM MY WINDOW

By NENITA FUENTEBELLA-PEŇONES

I turned a year older this August 4. As a senior citizen, I’m still strong and able although it’s not the same as when I was younger, but I thank God for the blessings He has given me. I may not be a millionaire but I feel rich because I have my family intact. I love them and they love me. What can I ask more. Not everyone has this. Even very rich people don’t usually have it all. Another blessing I think God have given me is that I am satisfied with our simple life. Yes, He has given me a comfortable life and I don’t aspire for high and luxurious living. Of course, we also use the faculties God gave us. Let’s count our blessings and thank the Lord for the days and years He gives us. It goes without saying that we should use it for good and not for bad.

August 4 happens to be the feast day of St. John Maria Vianney, Patron of Priests. So, I’m hereby quoting “Criticism of Priests” our Lord’s revelations to Mutter Vogel from the “Pieta Prayer Booklet” because of happenings in our church in different parts of the world.

“One should never attack a priest, even when he is in error, rather one should pray and do penance that I’ll grant him My grace again. He alone fully represents Me even when he doesn’t live after My example.”

“When a priest falls, we should extend him a helping hand through prayer and not through attack! I myself will be his judge. NO ONE BUT I!”

“Whoever voices judgment over a priest has voiced it over me; child, never let a priest be attacked, take up his defense. Child, never judge your confessor, rather pray much for him and offer every Thursday, through the hands of my blessed Mother, Holy Communion for him. Never again accept an out-of-the-way word about a priest and speak no unkind word about them. EVEN IF IT WERE TRUE! Every priest is My Vicar and My heart will be sickened and insulted because of it. If you hear a judgment against a Priest, pray a Hail Mary.”

“If you see a priest who celebrates the Holy Mass unworthily, then say nothing about him, rather tell it to me alone. I stand beside him on the altar. “Oh, pray much for my priests, that they’ll love purity above all, that they’ll celebrate the Holy Sacrifice of the mass with pure hands and heart. Certainly, the Holy Sacrifice is one and the same even when it’s celebrated by an unworthy priest, but the graces called down upon the people is not the same.” Mary Queen of the Clergy, pray for them.”

I learned from the column of Juan L. Mercado in the Philippine Daily Inquirer dated July 31, 2010 that we have a solution on the water shortage which is Republic Act 6716 of 1989. Mercado calls it a slumbering law which has long languished in the sickbed of non-compliance.

“RA 6716 directed that at least 100,000 rainwater collectors and catchment areas be built all over the country by 1991. Barangays, towns and cities were to built cisterns that would collect rainwater that usually seeped away.

The law hath not been dead, though it had slept. Deaths from poor sanitation rose.” Atty. Antonio Orosa and concerned citizens reportedly asked the Supreme Court to issue a writ of Kalikasan. If granted, the writ would compel government units, provinces and cities even the new Commission on Climate Change to implement RA 6716.”

This is only one solution but can be useful especially at this time when we have seen the threats of riots over water shortage in 177 barangays of Metro Manila. Since it is mandated by law, it should be implemented.

Mercado further wrote, “Indeed, distant water won’t help put out a fire close at hand,” as a Chinese proverb says. Clean and adequate water must be at hand to ensure life and growth.” I agree 100 percent with this.

Leave a Reply

