Africans dominate CamSur Marathon

RUNNERS - Kenyan Richard Kimelli Kemboi (left) and Ethiopian Ayelu Lemma Geda (right) pose with Gov. LRay Villafuerte during the awarding rites of the CamSur Marathon, where some 17,400 runners participated in the race to rebuild the nation.


PILI, Camarines Sur – Richard Kimeli Kemboi of Kenya and Ayelu Lemma Geda of Ethiopia bagged the championship of the Summit Water CamSur Marathon 2010 held Sunday, Sept. 26 here participated by some  17,400 runners.

In fact, Kenyans cornered all five top posts in the 42K Men while Ethiopians took the first two slots and Kenyans the fourth and fifth places in the 42K Women category as frontrunning Russian Tatiana Villosova failed to sustain her lead and landed third.

The CamSur course is the only marathon course certified by International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) in the country and is the biggest such sports event not only here but in the entire Southeast Asia.

The marathon is also the country’s only qualifier race for the world marathon championships slated August next year in Korea.

The event was conceptualized and realized mainly through the efforts of Governor LRay Villafuerte as part of a comprehensive tourism development blueprint focused, among others, on extreme sports tourism, which has propelled CamSur to the pinnacle as the most visited destination in the Philippines.

Richard Kemboi negotiated the 42-kilometer fast and flat race that started at exactly 4:00 a.m. in 2 hours, 19 minutes and 39 seconds to grab the championship and the US$7,000 prize.  He crossed the timing mat just seven seconds ahead of Joel Kemboi who received US$4,000 for second best time, followed by Tariku Aboste Bokan at third with a time of  2:19:53 with a prize worth US$2,500.

At fourth place was Henry Kipkosgei Chereno at 2:20:53 who settled for US$1,000.

Among the women runners, Ayelu Lemma Geda clocked in first with 2:40:04 followed by fellow Ethiopian Radiya Adio Roba with 2:40:44.  Russian Tatiana Villosova (2:46:50) who lost steam after leading the women runners a large part of the route came in third.

Two more Kenyans Rael Jepyator Kamiyo (2:50:08) and Rose Chesire (2:52:01) were at fourth and fifth places.

The women marathoners received similar prize purses as the male counterparts in the open marathon.

Homegrown runners did their country well in the half-marathon.  In 21K Women, two Filipinas prevailed with Flordeliza Doños at 1:19:07 followed by Mirasol Abad (1:29:13) and Kenyan Susan Jemutai trailing third at 1:31:27.  They took home P40,000, P30,000 and P20,000 cash prizes respectively.

In the 21K Men, Julius Seramona delivered the best time of 1:10:38 trailing Kenyans Philip Ronoh (1:11:41) at second and Anthony Kosgei Cheptoo (1.14:15) at third.

Both the marathon and half marathon were open categories, but there were prizes for all runs in all categories for Filipinos only.  Winners in the local categories are:

42 K Men: first – Eric Panique; second – Irinio Raquin; third – Cris Sabal.

42 K Women: first – Jho-an Banayag; second – Mary Grace de los Santos;  third – Misellie Gilbuena.

21 K Men: first ­– Alquin Bolivar; second – Herminio Sore; third – Jujet de Asis.

21 K Women: first – Merecil Maquilan; second – Anna Vargas; third – Janice Caritas.

10 K Men: first – Willy Kipkernoi Rotich; second ­– Darwin Lim; third – Crifranreadel Indapan.  Cash prizes were P12,000, P8,000 and P5,000, respectively.

10 K Women: first – Irine Kipchumba; second ­­– Jenismill Malonga; third – Nhea Ann Barcena.

5 K Men: first – Christoper Olbuc, Jr.; second – Dominic Canada; third – Rodolfo Takadino.

5 K Women: first – Leonalyn Raterta; second – Jeanie Cano; third – Elenie Margalo.

3 K Men: first – Patrick Gongob; second – Carlo Pedregosa; third – Derrek Amarante.

3 K Women: first – Carmela Sugalan; second – Sherilyn Aguilar; third – Marjorie Zamora.

Darling of the awarding ceremonies was ten-year old Leonalyn Raterta who stood virtually half as tall as some of the adversaries but managed to win the 5K category.

Governor Villafuerte himself distributed the prizes, deemed the largest purse of all marathons ever conducted in the country, after he  thanked the support of the sponsors, various officials of agencies and local government units and especially the participants who were indispensable in making the competition a resounding success.

He enjoined their continued support to turn out many more bigger and more colorful races in the coming years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s