10th Ateneo National Writers Workshop slated in Naga

The 10th Ateneo National Writers Workshop, organized by the Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP) with the support of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Office of the President, Ateneo de Naga University (AdNU), will be held on Oct. 24 to 28, 2010 at the AdNU Campus, Naga City.

Twelve fellowships were awarded, with six going to writers from the Bicol region who write in the Bikol languages. Covered by the fellowships are their board and lodging, a modest stipend, and the opportunity to learn from an esteemed panel of Atenean writers and critics.

The fellows for this year’s workshop are: For poetry in English: Alyza May Timbol Taguilaso (Quezon City); For poetry in Filipino: Noel T. Fortun (Las Piñas City) and Maureen Gaddi dela Cruz (San Pedro, Laguna). For fiction in English: Glenn Diaz (Manila City) and Michelle Abigail Tiu Tan (Quezon City). For fiction in Filipino: Arnold Matencio Valledor (Panganiban, Catanduanes). For poetry in Bikol: Gerry Rubio (Virac, Catanduanes); Adrian Remodo (Naga City, Camarines Sur); Eduardo Uy (Gubat, Sorsogon); Richard Madrilejos (Tabaco, Albay); and Rodel Añosa (Ticao, Masbate). For fiction in Bikol: Jimple Borlagdan (Tabaco, Albay).

Panelists for this years workshop include prize-winning writers like Benilda S. Santos, Alvin B. Yapan, Marco AV. Lopez, Michael M. Coroza, Frank Peñones, and Carlo Arejola to name a few. This year’s workshop is co-directed by Kristian Cordero and Yolando Jamendang, Jr.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s