Philippines First, Aquino eating hotdog on the street & San Jose appointed MRT Operations Manager

FROM MY WINDOW

By NENITA FUENTEBELLA-PEŇONES

President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino had been criticized by Senators Joker Arroyo, Migs Zubiri and even his ally Sen. Franklin Drilon for giving first to the Chinese government a copy of the report of the Incident Investigating Review Committee before reporting to the Filipino people. I share their statement because as President, he is first and foremost responsible to the Filipino people.

I watched President Aquino explain on TV that it was only to give courtesy to China as he tries to fix our relation with that country. His reasons cannot be more important than the Filipino people. But what is done is done. Let’s give P-Noy the chance to do what he intends to do. I hope he will get better advisers. Let’s also wait for President Aquino’s action on the IIRC report. He said, “My obligation is first with the people, not in friendship, not with relatives, and not with partymates” after the criticisms from media, senators, congressmen, etc.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

When I saw on TV President Noynoy Aquino eating on the street of New York a hot dog sandwich together with some officials and security men that accompanied him eating too, the first thing that entered my mind was that it was unpresidential. He could have just ordered the hotdog sandwiches and they could have eaten in a private room or place. But when I saw him enjoying and recalling the past years when their family lived in New York and he talked about the hotdog and hamburgers he ate on the street, I said to myself, I should let him enjoy and be happy with it. Being the President should not deprive him of this small  joy. After all, he only spent $54.00 unlike former President Gloria M. Arroyo’s very expensive dinner in the same city.

When I am in Manila, I also look for the familiar restaurants where we used to eat during my student days and year after that.I look for the tasty Savory Chicken at Escolta, the famous Bibingka of Mang Ferino  but they are gone  except the Savory Chicken which is being resurrecting and is being published now. I also look for the Mami atr Siopao of Ma Mon Luk. I understand President Aquino and I’ll not find fault with his eating hotdog on the street. I think he was just being himself.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

So, Renato San Jose, the administrator of the Partido Development Administration was appointed by the President to be the Operations Manager of the MRT in Metro Manila. He was a competent and successful PDA Administrator and I’m sure he will be the same at MRT.

It’s good that the Deputy Administrators for Administration and Finance Rosa Catolico and Recha Quin of the Planning Department are also competent and very knowledgeable. I believe that PDA will continue to function efficiently with PDA Chairman Wimpy Fuentebella. The staff of the PDA are competent, too. I look at Ato’s appointment to MRT as a recognition of another Bicolano’s ability by this administration. San Jose is a CESO I.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I am tempted to write again about the effects of climate change one year after typhoon Ondoy devastated Metro Manila because its effects are being felt nationwide. I also wonder if all concerned in the government and private sector have already a survival plan.

With climate change, “coastal flooding becomes more frequent and saltwater intrusion threatens water supply and food production.

Prolonged droughts threatens food sec urity and water availability.

More heavy rainfall causes destructive floods, landslides and contamination of water supplies.

Tropical storms get more intense with higher speeds and more rainfall.

Disease-carrying mosquitoes and tics move to new areas, malaria and dengue fever spread.”

This information comes from the Philippine National Red Cross.

From this column, it is suggested that local government units and everyone to have a survival plan before destruction and tragedies happen again.

Leave a Reply

